top of page

ABOUT ME

5.png

Hello and welcome to Indited Fiction, a blog where all your storytelling dreams come true!

My name is Christina! I take a great interest in writing, poetry and literary creativity. 

If you're an aspiring writer, a future writer, or even just a reader. This is just the blog you need! I blog (And Podcast) about books, writing, and creativity to help inspire you and your literary works!

Creating stories that soar is my motto and finding pathways to writing success is my promise.

I hope you’ll stick around and find joy in the content I can provide.

listen to this !

WelcomeChristina
00:00 / 03:00

POSTS BY TAGS

BOOK CLUB

Thanks for subscribing!

invitation

book recommendation

OF THE MONTH

5.png

At seven, Jude’s entire life imploded, leaving her orphaned and reliant on her kidnapper after being whisked away to live in Faerie. At seventeen, Jude wants nothing more than to fit in, despite her own mortality. But many of the Fae despise humans, especially the youngest son of the High King. Cunning, charming, cruel and wicked, Prince Cardan has a real mean streak when it comes to Jude. But the tides are changing. Swept into a deadly game of politics, Jude must stay one step ahead to come out victorious. 

The Cruel Prince is centered around cutthroat fae, scheming royals and a Political Intrigue (of epic proportions). An all-round immersive novel.

Interview with writer: Aurora! *Christmas Special*

Updated: May 22, 2022

A strong + confident mindset is probably the most important building block of a fruitful creative journey. When we take the time and energy to cultivate positive thoughts and limitless beliefs, then we will be more productive in our day-to-day creative tasks.


Morning rituals are powerful. Do you engage your creative spirit first thing in the morning? I highly suggest spending fifteen minutes feeling into your dreams and goals for your creative life. Visualizing yourself having a beautiful and productive creativity session will actually lean you toward making choices that are healthy for your creative journey. In other words, you’ll be more likely to want to sit down and write because you’re “telling” yourself you’re going to enjoy it.





A merry Christmas eve to you my dear readers! I hope the above note got you excited and ready for the holidays! As always, this Christmas I decided to do a little something special by getting to interview one of my favorite writers and go-to person for writing advice!


Her pen name is Aurora and she a a huge Pinterest Influencer, having re-posted around 250 pins on writing tips and advice for aspiring writers on her Pinterest account @cryptic_maiden. She loves to read any book with the enemies to lovers trope, and recently got into fantasy novels. Aurora writes lots of short stories mostly in the mystery/horror genre but she even writes in the fantasy/sci-fi genres as well. She has a Wattpad account @chaotic_corpse where she is currently writing two different stories. Aurora is also in the process of publishing a tragic historical romance novel that will hopefully release next year. Follow her on her Pinterest account for writing tips, book recommendations and updates on her novels. Her most popular pins are the ones that deal with writing villains, assassins', crime and, of course, the enemies to lovers trope!




How long have you been writing ?

A: I’ve been writing basically my whole life. I remember the first story I wrote was a backstory to the Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland.


C: For me, I’ve been writing for the last three years, I was known for writing poems on my first year in middle school, but fiction writing came to me during my freshman year in high school. My first ever story was an intergalactic sci-fi book based on the movie inter-stellar.



Who has been the biggest supporter of your writing?

A: I think my online community and friends have been my biggest supporters. But most of all my older sister has always supported me, and given me really helpful constructive criticism.


C: Same! My blog readers, family and friends are my biggest supporters. They keep motivating and supporting me in my passion and they are always there when I'm down, and I am always grateful to them. I do not have a very large online community but I do interact with a few experienced writers who do give the greatest advice and motivation!



What is the most valuable piece of advice you’ve been given about writing?

A: “Not everyone may like what you write but someone will.” Which has always helped me when feeling down about my stories and writing :).


C: “You only fail if you stop writing.” There were so many times I felt like my writing was never good enough, so many times I felt ashamed to call myself a writer, and so many times I was on the brink of just giving up. But during those times, I always try to remember that, for a writer, failing doesn’t mean not being able to create masterpieces, failing is when you stop writing.


What are common traps for new authors?

A: I think a trap most fall into, and one I feel into, was that I felt like everything I wrote was horrible. I always felt like my writing needed to be Jane Austen worthy, but many forget that even the greats started somewhere.


C: For me, the greatest trap newbie writers tend to fall into is giving up on the first page. I would know since its one of the traps I fell into when I first began writing. Your first page or first chapter or first sentence could be awful buts it’s the starting point of something truly amazing. You can always come back to edit it later, but for now its important to begin with whatever you’ve done so far, rather than trying to be perfect every time.


What are the most important elements of good writing?

A: The most important element of good writing, to me, is having well written characters. ESPECIALLY female and POC characters because then I feel like I can enjoy, and relate, to the story more.


C: Conflict. If there are no problems in your story, there isn't a reason to read it. Try to keep the reader engaged and at the end of their seat to find out what happens next through a life-or-death situation.


Name an underappreciated novel that you love

A: My favorite underrated novel is Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco, I feel like her Kingdom of the Wicked series is also amazing but outshines her equally phenomenal SJTR series. It has a female protagonist I relate to so much, and a male protagonist/love interest that I absolutely adore.


C: Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut Children of Blood and Bone. I'm only about 150 pages in, and I really love it. The writing is strong and and the characters complex and intriguing. Adeyemi has created a story world rich with magic, darkness, and beauty. Definitely a story to pick up if you love fantasies.


Thank you again, Aurora for taking the time to answer all of the questions! If any of you would like to connect with her, you may follow the links below:


One last note before we part:

Sometimes we think when we're in a state of happiness and fun while we create that we're doing something wrong. As though if we're not stressed enough during the process, then our creative work must not be all that worthwhile.

The opposite is more possible. When we create from a state of anxiety or mindset of dread, then our projects will never feel "right" to us. We'll constantly be disappointed or discouraged with the outcome.

If you don't enjoy the journey, then there is NO WAY you can feel good about the end result.

Before you create, set the intention to feel joy. "I give myself permission to release any narratives that are holding me back from feeling the joy of creating."


Don't be afraid to call in the joy! Hard things don't mean they have to be stressful things. Hard things don't mean we have to dread the experience.


If you are passionate about your creativity, if you are choosing to be on this journey, then please take joy along for the ride. It really is a marvelous traveling companion.


A very Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!



bottom of page